After the Internet Librarian conference in Monterey, our trip was primarily geared towards R&R, so we had plenty of time to read. Eric, appropriately, was reading Steinbeck. A little aside that he noted after we went wine tasting: in Tortilla Flat the going rate for a gallon of red wine was $1.

I was on a time travel kick. First, I re-read To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis. It’s science fiction masquerading as historical fiction, or maybe the other way around. Either way, it’s just wonderful – fun and intelligent and a great escape – perfect vacation reading. This is one I will re-read every couple of years. Then I read The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, which puts a very different spin on the topic. It was very good, engrossing, really a relationship novel with this added quirk of time travel. It’s a very intriguing first novel – I will look forward to seeing what Niffenegger does next.

