We had a nice, easy Thanksgiving this year. Eric’s aunt hosted, and all we had to do was bring one side dish. I’ve had a few requests for my recipe which I got several years ago from the Los Angeles Times, so here it is:

Sourmash Whiskey Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs. sweeet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 1/2-inch thick slices
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup sourmash whiskey

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Steam sweet potatoes until just tender, about 10 to 12 minutes. Remove cover and cool. Simmer sugar, butter, juice and salt, stirring occasionally to dissolve sugar. Simmer until mixture has thickened slightly, about 5 minutes. Add whiskey.

Layer potatoes, overlapping slightly, in a buttered 9 x 13 baking dish. Drizzle syrup evenly over sweet potatoes. Cover and bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Remove cover and baste sweet potatoes with syrup. Replace cover and bake for another 30 minutes. Remove cover and baste again. Cook uncovered until potatoes are completely soft and golden, 15 to 30 more minutes.

Notes: I use more than 1 tsp. salt – usually at least 2; for the whiskey I use Jack Daniel’s; I steam the potatoes in the microwave, and I like to get them more than “just tender” or else the cook time for the rest of the recipe takes longer than stated.

