It’s sort-of strange that I would recommend No Country for Old Men, because I can’t say that I enjoyed it, exactly. I don’t do very well in movies with a lot of violence or in movies where you are just waiting for another person to be killed or wounded. I can’t handle the tension or the blood. I watched about a third of this movie through my fingers and I was relieved when it was over.

However, this movie is really sticking with me; I can’t stop thinking about it. It was very well-made by the Coen brothers. I love them – even when they miss their target they are really interesting, and this movie was definitely not a miss. The acting was wonderful – several really amazing performances. Tommy Lee Jones was very good, but this was a familiar type for him. Josh Brolin was excellent, as was Kelly MacDonald. Good writing, based on the Cormac McCarthy novel. I can’t speak to the faithfulness of the adaptation since I haven’t read the book, but the movie is oddly beautiful and haunting in spite of the violence. Worth a look.

