For the Superbowl yesterday I made nachos. Now, personally, I like melted cheese, but when it cools off and congeals I think it’s pretty gross. So I’ve started making my own cheese sauce for my nachos, and it works great! Here’s a recipe I stole from Emeril:

  • 4 Tbl. unsalted butter
  • 4 Tbl. flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 small can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 2 cups grated Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • tortilla chips
  • ground beef, browned, drained and seasoned to taste (I use taco seasoning)

Preheat oven to 400. Melt the butter over medium-high heat and whisk in the flour. Cook, stirring constantly, for 2-3 minutes. Do not allow the flour to brown. While whisking constantly, add the milk in a steady stream. Add the green chiles and bring the sauce to a boil. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 5 minutes, or until the sauce is thickened and bubbly. Add the cheddar, salt and cayenne pepper and stir until the cheese is melted and the sauce is smooth. Remove from heat. Layer chips, beef and cheese sauce in a 9×13 pan. Cook in 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes.

Yummy!

A couple of notes: this recipe makes enough sauce for several batches of nachos. It reheats well, but it will thicken in the fridge. I usually reheat it in the microwave to make it easier to pour over the second batch. Try not to overdo it on the sauce or the chips can get soggy – they still taste good but are difficult to pick up.

