I love clothes. For years I worked in a very casual office and wore jeans and t-shirts to work every day, but when I went back to school and started on a new career I started taking more of an interest in my wardrobe and now I’m officially hooked. It took some trial and error, but I’ve developed a pretty good sense of what I like and what works for me. I still experiment a little, but I generally come back to the same style formula and thus avoid any major fashion disasters. Or so I thought.

The other day I put on a dress that has been hanging in my closet for a couple of months. It’s really more of a summer dress, but we were having some beautiful weather and I thought I could get away with it. I put it on and looked in the mirror and was utterly horrified. I do not know what I saw when I looked at myself in the dressing room mirror at the store, but I cannot imagine what possessed me to buy this dress. Between the neckline, the dress length and the sleeves, it cuts me off at all the wrong places. I am 5’7″ but this dress makes me look about 4 feet tall. Seriously. Hobbit city. I tried layering it over other stuff and that just made it worse. This isn’t something that would be changed by losing or gaining a few pounds, either. The proportions are so completely wrong for me that there is no hope for redemption. I really don’t know what possessed me to buy this dress. It was on sale so I didn’t waste too much money, but still…sheesh!

