I’ve been catching up on some items in my Netflix queue, and I recently watched Waitress, a movie from 2007 starring Keri Russell.  I thoroughly enjoyed it. Russell plays a small-town waitress stuck in an unhappy marriage who gets pregnant and then starts an affair. It’s sweet, funny, sad and hopeful all at the same time. It’s a well-acted character film, with some wonderful supporting performances in addition to a very good peformance by Keri Russell. If it has a flaw, it’s that the husband character is such an ass that it’s not believable that she would have ever married him in the first place. However, the rest of the movie is so strong that I wasn’t bothered too much by that detail. And I guarantee that after you watch it you’ll want to rush right out and order some pie!

