I know this is boring, but I always prefer challenges that have more to do with the kind of fashion you might actually see on the runway. The costumey challenges are fun to watch, but just don’t have that much to do with being a great fashion designer. Still, I was curious to see what the designers came up with when they actually had a mandate to be over-the-top.

  • Blayne: I really didn’t like this look, but I think Blayne did a good job of choosing a client who could deal with his aesthetic. The wings were just sad, and without the wings the dress was just a cheap-looking sequined number.
  • Daniel: I wasn’t sad to see him go. It wasn’t the worst thing he’s made on this show, but talk about missing the boat on the challenge again. Yeesh! Boring dress, terrible choice of fabric. Bye, bye, whiner!
  • Jerell: I think he really missed the boat on what his client asked for. If the dress was shorter, it might have worked for another drag queen, but his model specifically stated that she was about classic glamour and not gimicky. Most of this look didn’t work for me, particularly the color combination.
  • Joe: I don’t think I would have given him the win, but he pretty much nailed the challenge and gave his client what she wanted. I thought it was just the right level of over-the-topness.
  • Keith: I get the Tina Turner influence, but this look was just sort-of boring. I think if you’re creating a stage look it needs to be more of a show-stopper. There just wasn’t enough definition in the shape.
  • Kenley: This was a perfectly appropriate drag look, and fit the style of her model, but was honestly a little boring. Plus, what the hell was going on with the zipper in the back? It looked to me like she sewed the zipper on the outside of the dress by mistake.
  • Korto: I would have given Korto the win. Great costume, perfect for her model, creative touches – she’s another one who really nailed the challenge.
  • Leanne: I felt bad for Stella when Leanne chose Sharon Needles as her model. I don’t think her Jetson’s-style outfit was a good choice for that persona, and if she and Stella had swapped they both would have had more success. There was definitely drama in the outfit, but it was a little busy. I didn’t get enough of a look to see for sure, but it looked to me like there may have been some fit issues as well.
  • Stella: again, not the best style choice for her model. I felt like she ignored what her model wanted and made what she wanted to make. It wasn’t a terrible outfit, but I don’t think it was a success, either. Probably would have been much better on Sharon.
  • Suede: how much can you do with that green palette? I didn’t care for this look, but it actually turned out better than I expected. I agreed with Hedda about the gloves, though – they did have a godzilla look to them.
  • Terri: I was intrigued by her design, but ultimately I didn’t feel it was totally successful – there was so much going on that the overall look was a little muddy to me. I like the attempt, though, and I think she did the best job of taking the drag queen challenge in a more fashionable direction.

I was honestly surprised not to see more really wacky stuff in this challenge. I would have loved to see some of the ingenuity that Chris March showed in his portfolio from last season – I know the time constraints had something to do with that, but I still think more could have been done.

