Calvin continues to grow and change – we think he’s going through a growth spurt because all of a sudden he’s ravenous every 2 hours and he does feel heavier. Our scale rounds to the nearest half pound so we only get an approximate weight for him, but he weighs 13.5 pounds on our scale now.  He hasn’t shown a lot of interest in toys, yet, but I noticed that when he has a bib on he’ll grab it and shove it towards his mouth, so I’ve been putting toy in his car seat with him some of the time and he’ll do the same with that. He’s also starting to self-soothe a tiny bit – instead of the binky, he’ll suck on his fists and can sometimes calm himself down that way, which is really nice.

100_2126

This week I went back to work full time and Eric is now home full time with Calvin. It’s a big change for all of us, but the transition went pretty well and I know we’re really fortunate that one of us is able to stay home with the baby. For me, Tuesday morning was the low point – having to leave again after having been gone all day Monday was really hard. But Eric brought Calvin up to see me for lunch on Tuesday and Friday, so I got my baby fix and that helped a lot. Calvin and Eric did pretty well at home, too – there were some low points, but overall Calvin handled the adjustment really well, and Eric has already figured out some new tricks. It’s sometimes hard to get Calvin to stay asleep during the day unless you hold him. Eric discovered that if we sit on the couch and hold Calvin until he’s sound asleep, then put him down on the couch where we were sitting, he will often stay asleep and sleep really well. He likes that warm butt print, I guess!

 

Sending me off to work on Monday

Sending me off to work on Monday

 

Hanging out with Dad

Hanging out with Dad

 

Handsome boy

Handsome boy

