Mother's Day  kinda stunk, akshully

Yesterday was my first ever Mother’s Day, and we had planned a really nice day: trip down to Balboa Park in San Diego, a couple of hours at the zoo, lunch at the Japanese Garden tea house, a little treat at Extraordinary Desserts. I was really looking forward to it. But, I have a 4 month old baby who doesn’t have any concept of “Mom’s special day.”

Calvin had a rough night on Saturday – major meltdown in the evening (he cried so hard he was hoarse the next morning), which exhausted him and caused him to fall asleep earlier than usual, which meant that at 3:00 in the morning he was ready to start his day – wide awake and ready to party. So, Eric and I were pretty wiped out the next morning and decided that a Grand Day Out was not in the cards.

We had some donuts and kept it mellow in the morning, trying to think of a Plan B for later in the day. Then Eric, while working under the house to fix a plumbing issue, caught his finger in a sawzall and had to go to the Urgent Care for stitches. Calvin and I hung out in the car in the parking lot (didn’t want to expose Calvin to Urgent Care germs that might be floating around), and mercifully he slept most of the time. We got lunch at the Carl’s Jr. drive-through, and Eric had to eat his cold because he got called in to get his stitches right after I got back with the food. It was kind-of a sucky day! We’re going to try a rain check on the San Diego plan in a couple of weeks.

In other news, Calvin and I will be going up to Seattle this week for my sister’s 40th birthday. It will be Calvin’s first plane ride – I’m a little nervous, but it’s a short flight so it shouldn’t be too bad, right? I’m really excited about the visit, and Calvin will get to meet his Seattle cousins for the first time – should be fun!

