So, I’m home on maternity leave, which is great! I have just under two weeks left until my due date. Physically I’m pretty uncomfortable and definitely ready to be done with this pregnancy, but on the other hand it’s really nice to have some time to focus on Calvin before the baby comes. Here he is playing word games on my iPhone:

Calvin’s doing great – he’s our little Myna bird these days, repeating everything we say. It’s really helping him develop his language skills, which is great, but it definitely makes you a little self-conscious to have a constant echo. He picks up all our verbal tics and it’s so funny sometimes to hear our words coming out of his mouth. I was talking to my sister on the phone the other night and she said “Um, is that Calvin in the background repeating every word you say?” Yes, yes it is. It never ends. And he doesn’t just repeat us – he repeats the TV, and books, and songs he hears…

We’re finally progressing with our remodel (what is it with us and remodeling while I’m pregnant? You’d think we would have learned our lesson last time!). The permit process was a lot more complicated this time around as we are adding square footage, and it took a long time to get through that.  But now the workers are digging trenches and getting ready for the foundation to be poured. We’re adding two rooms and a bit of hallway. The back deck is gone for now, and the area right behind the house is trench city. Calvin, of course, is fascinated and tries to escape back there if given any opportunity.

Here’s a little video of me and him behind the house. It’s not the best shot of the work that’s going on, but you can see my enormous belly and Calvin’s cuteness, so I guess that’s all that really matters!

That’s it for now. I haven’t been doing a very good job of keeping up with the video, but I’ll try to get some more edited and posted before the baby arrives and chaos descends!

P.S. Just a reminder – click on any photo to enlarge it.

